Huntsville Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was established to service Huntsville, AL, Normal, AL, and surrounding areas. ¬†At the time of inception, the new chapter was named “Epsilon Delta Sigma” and was the 57th chapter in the Southern Region. Huntsville Alabama was chosen as the seat of the chapter. The inception ceremony was conducted on the campus of Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College in nearby Normal, Alabama by Miss Lucia James, Southern Regional Director from Florida A&M University. Guests presented at this service included members of Delta Delta Chapter (undergraduate chapter of the college), and Miss Mildred Goggins, a representative from Beta Eta Chapter, Alabama State College in Montgomery, Alabama.

Charter Information

Date CharteredApril 24, 1954
Place CharteredAlabama A&M University
Chartered byMiss Lucia James, Southern Regional Director Florida A&M University
Chapter NameHuntsville Alumnae Chapter; Previously Epsilon Delta Sigma, 57th Chapter
PresidentAnnabelle Spann
Vice PresidentDoris Wright
Recording SecretaryMamie Bonner
Corresponding SecretaryGilla Byrd
TreasurerIrma Hollins
ChaplainEmma Kate Gray
Sergeant-at-ArmsNell Bradford
ParliamentarianAlice Allen
CustodianVirginia Brooks
JournalistInez Lee
MemberRoberta Cowans
MemberEthelda Malone
MemberLouise Ragland
MemberElsie Wallace

Past Presidents

Jackie B. Perry2017 - Present
Mychelle A. Leonard2013-2017
Jacqueline P. Wyse2009-2013
Margaret Kelly, Ph.D.2007-2009
Lady Shivers Tucker2001-2007
Laura Clift2001-2003
Helen McAlpine, Ph.D.1997-2001
Katie Blanding1995-1997
Frankie Yarbrough1991-1995
Teresa Smith1989-1991
Elnora Lanier, Ph.D.1986-1986
A. Laura Hall1982-1986
Izora Harrison, Ph.D.1981-1982
Gladys Branch1980-1981
Izora Harrison, Ph.D.1978-1980
Miriam Fisher1975-1978
Virginia Redrick1973-1975
Gwendolyn Smith1970-1973
A. Belle Fletcher1968-1970
Missouri Torrence1966-1968
Gwendolyn Smith1959-1966
Mary Alice Smith1957-1959
Irma Hollins1956-1957
Annabelle Spann1954-1956